Health Educator

Health Education Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which INSHAPE recognizes the work of an outstanding health education teacher. A health education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching health education (K-12) for a specific school corporation.



Any health education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in INSHAPE.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching health education at K-12 level.


Award Criteria

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts a comprehensive and diverse health education program that utilizes the Essential Components of Health Education as reflected in the National Health Education Standards and other best practices.
  2. Describe your utilization of student assessment, one of the Essential Components of Health Education.
  3. Provides volunteer service at the school or community levels.
  4. Provides service to local, state or national professional associations/organizations.
  5. Shows evidence of meritorious professional activity in at least three (3) of the following: innovative teaching, publications, presentations, funded research or programs, special projects, or other health related activities.


Complete online application according to deadline on main Awards page.

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant’s principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.


Selection and Recognition Process

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by early Fall.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Reese Ryzewski

2021  Lindsay Carl

2020  Wendy Mirwaldt

2019  Melanie Busch

2018 Andrea McMurtry

2017 Cassie Brooks

2016 Maria Hallman

2015 Jenny Berju

2013 Heidi Dawn Stan

2012 Renee Frimming

2010 Gary DeHaven

2008 Barbi Kern

2006 Katherine Nalley Schembrais

2005 Kathy Newman-Smith

2004 Melissa Culver-Pekney

2003 Bobbi Lautzenheiser

2001 Karen Hatch

2000 Wilma Willard

1996 Cathy Huntsinger