Leadership Award

Leadership Award

The Leadership Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes an individual who has demonstrated significant leadership in terms of program development in health, physical education, recreation, dance (HPERD), and/or allied areas, and whose contributions reflect prestige, honor, and dignity to the Association.


Any INSHAPE professional who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current member in INSHAPE.
  2. Preparation in one or more areas of professional concern of the Association, and
  3. Minimum of ten years professional experience in HPERD and/or allied areas.


Award Criteria

The applicant must be an individual who:

  1. Is an active member of the Association and highly regarded by his/her professional peers,
  2. Has served professionally in school, community, and/or college/university programs, and
  3. Exemplifies the spirit of devoted service to the profession and who has by his/her leadership made significant advances to health, physical education, recreation, dance, and allied areas in the state. The following are some illustrations of professional leadership. It is not expected that the nominee will have contributed in all illustrated areas:
    a. Member of the Board or Directors of the INSHAPE,
    b. Chair of a committee of the Association,
    c. Distinctive leadership while holding office in the Association,
    d. Outstanding service with the Association or with an organization promoting the same general objectives as the Association over a period of years, and/or e. Significant contribution through leadership outside the normal framework of the Association (i.e., general education, public health, government, etc.) that reflects favorable on our profession.


Complete online application according to deadline on main Awards page.

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant’s principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.


Selection and Recognition Process

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by early Fall.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.


Previous Award Recipients

2023 Tammy Brant & Andrea McMurtry

2021  Meg Hite

2020  Mark Urtel

2019  Gary Sanders

2018  Molly Hare

2017 David Anspaugh

2016 Lisa Hicks

2015 Lisa Ford

2014 Keith Buetow

2013 Guoyuan Huang

2011 Renee Frimming

2008 Guoyun Huang

2007 Kim Duchane

2006 Carole DeHaven

2005 Paul Gray

2004 Mike Fratzke

2003 Cathy Huntsinger

2003 Betty Haven

2002 Lana Groombridge

2001 Sally Hope

2000 Patty Marcum

1998 Marilyn Buck

1997 Arlene Ignico

1996 Tom Sawyer

1996 Norma Jean Johnson

1995 Gwen Robbins

1994 Barbara Passmore

1993 Doreen St. Clair

1992 Barbara Ettl

1990 Ron Davis

1989 Sharon Burgess

1988 Jim Arvin

1987 Onita Johnson

1986 Jennifer Jones

1985 Marge Albohm

1984 Nancy Norris

1983 Willie Grissom

1982 Leroy Getchell

1981 Randall Grove

1980 John Raabe

1979 David Gallahue

1978 Nikki Assmann

1977 Jae Park

1976 Charles Baer

1975 Anthony Annarino

1974 Elinore St. John

1973 Judy Campbell

1972 Donald Mosher

1971 Emma Jane Gardner

1970 Walter Grey

1969 John Cooper

1968 Karl Bookwalter

1967 Clarence Biedenweg

1966 Richard Tiernan

1965 Bernard Loft

1964 Donald Ludwig

1963 William Wilson

1962 Koegh Rash

1961 Anita Aldridge

1960 Warren Schaller