Outstanding Student Award

Outstanding Student Award

The Outstanding Student Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes an undergraduate student who has displayed distinctive leadership and meritorious service to his/her profession of health, physical education, recreation, dance, and/or allied areas.


Any undergraduate student studying health, physical education, recreation, dance (HPERD), and/or allied areas that meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current student member of INSHAPE,
  2. Attending a college or university in the state at the time of nomination, and
  3. Declaring an undergraduate major in an academic department offering professional preparation curriculum in HPERD and/or allied area content.


Award Criteria

The applicant must be an individual who:

  1. Serves as a positive role model epitomizing personal health and enjoyment of physical activity ,
  2. Displays distinctive leadership to the profession (i.e., college or university student organization, Association activities),
  3. Exhibits meritorious service to the profession (i.e., community, college or university, Association), and
  4. Participates in professional development opportunities (i.e., attends and/or presents at meetings, workshops, conferences, etc.).


Higher education faculty submit one candidate to Awards Chair according to communicated deadline.

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant’s faculty. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.


Selection and Recognition Process

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by early Fall.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.


Previous Award Recipients


2022  Katelyn Miller

2021  Allison Eavey

2020  Austin Sheckles

2019  Casey Arseneau

2018 MiKayla Duzan

2017 Jared Bourff

2016 Svea Nelson

2015 Mikayla Munn

2014 Grant Newlin

2013 Brian Kautz

2012 Austin Barcome

2011 Erica Moreland

2010 Jordan Knox

2009 Kali Carlisle

2008 Chelsea Bower

2007 Melanie DeGrandchamp

2006 Nikki Sieracki

2005 Casey Schneider

2004 Brooke Sutton

2003 Brooke Sutton

2002 Misty Minniear

2001 Korinth Patterson

2000 Jacqueline Shepler

1999 Melanie Whiteman

1995 Jennifer Renee Murrell

1993 Jennifer Jo Lochner

1992 Will Ragle

1991 Lisa Lock

1990 Todd Jones

1989 Candy Kelley

1987 Susan Nye

1986 Sally Mueller

1985 Ann Marie Wilson

1984 Shari Bibler