PE: Middle School

Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which Indiana SHAPE recognizes the work of an outstanding middle school physical education teacher. A middle school physical education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching students physical education in sixth through eighth grades for a specific school corporation. In the case a school corporation refers to the school by another name (i.e., junior high) or has different grade levels, the teacher is still eligible for this award.


Any middle school physical education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in Indiana AHPERD.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching physical education at the middle school level.


Award Criteria

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts a comprehensive and diverse physical education (health or adapted) program that utilizes Essential Components and Physical Literacy (or Health Literacy) as reflected in SHAPE America Standards and Guidelines for K-12 physical education programs.
  2. Utilizes various teaching methodologies and appropriate instructional practices.
  3. Plans and implements innovative and diverse experiences to meet the needs of all students.
  4. Describe your utilization of Student Assessment, one of the essential components of physical education.
  5. Advocates for the profession, participates in professional development opportunities (such as, but not limited to: service through leadership, presentations, and/or writing).


Complete online application according to deadline on main Awards page.

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant’s principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.


Selection and Recognition Process

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by early fall.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.


Previous Award Recipients


2021  Stephen Imel II

2019  Julie Grissom

2018  Dan Tennessen

2017 Jill Berry

2016 Megan Mathew

2015 Donna Hazelett

2014 Heidi Dawn Stan

2013 Beth Kriech

2012 Andrea McMurtry

2011 Danielle Ward

2010 Alicia Breedlove

2009 Tammy Brant

2008 Audra Offutt

2007 Missy Harvey

2006 Tom Stubbeman

2005 Monica Malloy

2004 Audrey Satterblom

2003 Raoul Donati

2001 Deby Chaney

1996 Charlene Watson

1995 Karen Hatch

1994 Bobbi Lautzenheiser

1993 Sherry White