Young Professional Award

Young Professional Award

The Young Professional Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes a younger member of the Association who has demonstrated outstanding potential in teaching, scholarship, and service. The recipient shall have demonstrated a quality of performance that, if continued, indicates that he/she will develop into a distinguished member of the profession.


Any professional in health, physical education, recreation, dance, or allied areas who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current member in INSHAPE,
  2. Maintained membership in the Association for a minimum of the past five years,
  3. Be in the profession for no more than 10 years, or
  4. Be less than 35 years of age (as of October 15 of the year of nomination submission).


Award Criteria

The applicant must be an individual who:

  1. Exhibits a devotion to the advancement of health, physical education, recreation, dance, or allied areas,
  2. Demonstrates leadership and industry qualities during his/her years of professional involvement, and
  3. Displays meritorious teaching, scholarship, and service to the profession. The following are some illustrations of professional contributions. It is not expected that the nominee will have contributed in all illustrated areas:
    a. Teaching/Coaching
    i. Demonstrator of outstanding teaching and/or athletic coaching,
    ii. Exemplary teaching/coaching abilities acknowledged through citations, awards, and other recognitions,
    iii. Outstanding contributor to clinics, workshops, and/or state curricular projects concerned with the areas of health, physical education, recreation and/or dance,
    iv. Physical education, recreation, and/or dance at any educational level, and
    v. Outstanding contributor to the profession whose work has affected its philosophy or practice, not included in the above.
    b. Scholarship
    i. Systematic researcher that has helped advance the profession,
    ii. Author of significant articles on the subject of health, physical education, recreation, and/or dance in the INSHAPE Journal and/or other professional publications,
    iii. Author or co – author of books in health, physical education, recreation, and/or dance, and d. Creator of unique productions, fellowships, and/or grant proposals.
    c. Service
    i. Active leadership roles in INSHAPE,
    ii. Officer holder and/or committee chair of SHAPE America Midwest District, SHAPE America, and/or affiliated organizations, such as the American College of Sports Medicine, American School Health Association, National College of Physical Education, or National Recreation and Parks Association, and
    iii. Speaker before educational groups, at conference assemblies, and meetings held for the promotion of health, physical education, recreation, and/or dance.


Complete online application according to deadline on main Awards page.

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant’s principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.


Selection and Recognition Process

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by early Fall.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.


Previous Award Recipients


2021  Alyssa Jackson

2020  Jacqueline Kelly

2019  Lindsay Carl

2018 Katherine Karn

2017 Melanie DeGrandchamp Busch

2016 Daniel Tennessen

2014 Tonya Gimbert Sawyer

2013 R Kevin R Richards

2011 David Pierce

2010 Ryan Hedstrom

2007 Glenna Bower

2006 James Kamla

2005 Karl Larson

2004 Raymond Leung

2003 Molly Hare

2002 Rebecca Woodard

2001 Paul Fawcett

1994 John Wingfield

1993 John Ozmun

1992 Julie Blevins

1990 Terrie M. Whitt

1989 Kathy Dean

1988 Sherri Skaggs

1987 Daymon Brodhacker

1986 Robin Walker

1985 Bill Rump

1984 Susan Aufderheide

1983 Becky Hull

1982 Barbara Albourn

1980 Marilyn Rhienhart

1979 Vicki Jackson

1978 Marge Albohm

1977 Kathy Bristow