PE: Elementary School

Elementary Teacher of the Year Award

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which INSHAPE recognizes the work of an outstanding elementary physical education teacher. An elementary physical education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching physical education in kindergarten through sixth grades for a specific school corporation.


Any elementary physical education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in INSHAPE.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching physical education at the elementary level.


Award Criteria

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts a comprehensive and diverse physical education (health or adapted) program that utilizes Essential Components and Physical Literacy (or Health Literacy) as reflected in SHAPE America Standards and Guidelines for K-12 physical education programs.
  2. Utilizes various teaching methodologies and appropriate instructional practices.
  3. Plans and implements innovative and diverse experiences to meet the needs of all students.
  4. Describe your utilization of Student Assessment, one of the essential components of physical education.
  5. Advocates for the profession, participates in professional development opportunities (such as, but not limited to: service through leadership, presentations, and/or writing).


Complete online application according to deadline on main Awards page.

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant’s principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.


Selection and Recognition Process

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by early fall.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.


Previous Award Recipients


2022 Garrett Stephens

2021  Kristy Cobbs

2020  Molly Crawn

2019  Ryan Macy

2018 Chris Berg

2017 Andrea Bornino

2016 Zach Kelley

2015 Kristi Serra

2014 Kyle Yoder

2013 Steven Zinselmeier

2011 Regina Nowak

2010 JoEllen Earhart

2009 Kim Ward

2008 Elise Studer-Smith

2007 Pamela Hasting

2006 Roberta Sipe

2005 Steve Govorko

2004 Cindy Huffman

2003 Catherine Caldwell

2002 Joni Ann Lawler

2000 Bill Bishop

1999 Steve Gorvorko

1998 Dale Berry

1996 Jan Miller

1994 Sally Rickets

1993 Delane Diller

1992 Della Hall

1991 Noel Bewley

1990 Mary Weitzel

1989 Sylvia Fleck

1987 Harry Mosher

1986 Delores Wilson